Page 2 of 4

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Mon Apr 03, 2017 1:26 pm
by willpirkle
I just re-read your original post on this.

When using the VST2 wrapper, I've found the following: renaming the .vst3 plugin to .dll works on Windows to turn it into a vst2 plugin. Renaming the .vst3 to .vst does NOT work for me on MacOS. I need to compile a separate target for VST2 on MacOS and generate both .vst3 and .vst products independently.

- Will

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:53 am
by bx_joscha
Yes, renaming the bundle does not work here as well on Mac. I have tried creating a new target with wrapper_extension vst instead of vst3 and modifying the Bundle identifier to com.steinberg.vst.again. But that does also not work for me. What is the trick here to get the AGain example plugin run as a VST2 plugin on Mac?

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 5:47 pm
by leonlion
willpirkle wrote:I just re-read your original post on this.

When using the VST2 wrapper, I've found the following: renaming the .vst3 plugin to .dll works on Windows to turn it into a vst2 plugin. Renaming the .vst3 to .vst does NOT work for me on MacOS. I need to compile a separate target for VST2 on MacOS and generate both .vst3 and .vst products independently.

- Will
I am also stuck at the same point as the others in this thread.

Will, what exactly do you change in your separate target for VST2, just the extension (as well as adding the few VST2 wrapper lines in the source code)?

Is anybody able to build VST2 on Mac? Did you find a solution?

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Tue Sep 05, 2017 12:43 pm
by willpirkle
The easiest way to see it is to download my software, create a new empty project (pass thru code) and then use Make VST to create a VST2/VST3 project for VS and XCode. Follow the instructions for preparing the 3.6.7 SDK (super easy to do, and has to do with conforming to the previous SDK paradigms for dealing with the base-code portion, and will not harm the 3.6.7 SDK in any way). There are videos on the website demonstrating how the XCode version creates a VST2 plugin specifically in Live 9 for MacOS.

We are prepping for a Cat 5 hurricane right now, so I don't have a lot of free time between that and classes/University responsibilities. If I do get some time, I may work on a stand-alone example in XCode for you guys - but it will really just be a Make VST project with all the RAFX stuff removed (which is also super easy to do).

- Will

www.willpirkle.com

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:19 am
by bx_joscha
Thanks, Will! I will try that. Hopefully, it won't be too dramatic for the region around Florida, but the hurricane seems to be very strong. I wish you all the best!

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:16 pm
by leonlion
Thank you Will!

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:31 am
by bx_joscha
If someone found a direct solution without the need of RackAFX and MakeVST, please let us know here.

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 10:28 am
by Arne Scheffler
Hi,
what's the output of

Code: Select all

nm YOURPLUGEXECUTABLE | grep VstPlugMain
This is the entry point for every VST2.x plug-in on macOS.

Cheers
Arne

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Thu Sep 07, 2017 5:27 pm
by willpirkle
Here is a stand-alone VST project for XCode/MacOS. It was created with RackAFX -> Make VST, and then stripped of all RAFX code. The plugin does nothing - by default it will just pass audio in Live 9 as a VST2 plugin. It has no controls and no custom GUI.

http://willpirkle.com/special/MyVSTProjects.zip

To use it:
- unzip the file to reveal a directory called MyVSTProjects
- copy that folder into your public.sdk/samples/vst folder
- open the MyVSTProjects folder, then open the subfolder VSTDemoProject; the xcode project file is in there to launch
- prepare the SDK according to the instructions here: http://www.willpirkle.com/preparing-the ... 7-for-use/

Preparing the SDK only involves 2 steps: 1) making sure you have the VST2 part of the SDK installed (you already should have this) and 2) copying a single folder called "mac" into your /base subfolder - that's it. You can ignore the part about "four layer deep hierarchy" as planting the MyVSTProjects folder into your public.sdk/samples/vst folder takes care of that.

Start XCode and build the plugin (select the proper target bit-depth for debug mode plugins). The build phases automatically copy the .vst and .vst3 files into the proper location on your Mac so there is nothing to do but run the DAW app. The XCode project is already setup to use Ableton Live 9 as the target debug app but you can change that.

Hope that helps -
Will

Re: VST2 not detected by Live with SDK 3.6.7

Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:11 am
by bx_joscha
Hi Arne,

VSTPluginMain is contained in the binary. nm again | grep VSTPluginMain yields a hit.

00000000000185c0 t _VSTPluginMain


Regards,

Joscha