Example Plug-ins Not Loading

SDK for VST 3 audio plug-in and host development.
Post Reply
cpsmusic
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:09 pm

Example Plug-ins Not Loading

Post by cpsmusic »

Hi,

After building the SDK and installing the example plug-ins Presonus Studio One 3 only loads the adelay and mda plug-ins. All the others are blacklisted (see attached).

This is my environment:
Mac 10.12.6
XCode 9,2
VST SDK 3.6.8
Presonus Studio One 3 3.5.5

How do I fix this?

Cheers,

Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

cpsmusic
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:09 pm

Re: Example Plug-ins Not Loading

Post by cpsmusic »

Further to this problem, VST3PluginTestHost has the same problem as Studio One 3 - it's only loading the adelay and mda plug-ins.

Any ideas?

willpirkle
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:53 pm

Re: Example Plug-ins Not Loading

Post by willpirkle »

Hi Chris

FWIW: I am not having this problem.

The SDK sample projects build and load correctly in S1/MacOS, both Debug and Release versions. They also load properly in Reaper.

I did not modify the source code or the SDK in any way, other than running the "copy_vst2_to_vst3" script to install the VST2 SDK stuff.

These are all 64-bit plugins and hosts.

My environment is:

MacOS 10.12.6
XCode 8.3.3
VST SDK 3.6.8
Presonus Studio One 3 3.5.5.45892 Professional (the latest release)
Reaper v5.62/64

- Will

cpsmusic
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:09 pm

Re: Example Plug-ins Not Loading

Post by cpsmusic »

I've tried rebuilding the SDK but the problem still exists.

Would it be possible for an OS X developer to email me (send me a PM) the again plug-ins. At least then I can see whether the problem is with my setup.

Cheers!

cpsmusic
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2017 1:09 pm

Re: Example Plug-ins Not Loading

Post by cpsmusic »

Will kindly sent me a couple of plug-ins to test and they work fine.

Just wondering if anything in the build output for the SDK looks suspicious:

New-MacBook:build chris$ cmake -G"Xcode" "../VST3_SDK"
-- The C compiler identification is AppleClang 9.0.0.9000039
-- The CXX compiler identification is AppleClang 9.0.0.9000039
-- Check for working C compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/clang
-- Check for working C compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/clang -- works
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info
-- Detecting C compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting C compile features
-- Detecting C compile features - done
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/clang++
-- Check for working CXX compiler: /Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Toolchains/XcodeDefault.xctoolchain/usr/bin/clang++ -- works
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info
-- Detecting CXX compiler ABI info - done
-- Detecting CXX compile features
-- Detecting CXX compile features - done
-- SMTG_COREAUDIO_SDK_PATH is not set. If you need it, please download the COREAUDIO SDK!
-- SMTG_AAX_SDK_PATH is not set. If you need it, please download the AAX SDK!
* To enable building the AudioUnit wrapper, you need to use the Xcode generator and set SMTG_COREAUDIO_SDK_PATH to the path of your installation of the CoreAudio SDK!
* To enable building the InterAppAudio NoteExpressionSynth example for iOS you need to set the IOS_DEVELOPMENT_TEAM and use the Xcode generator
-- Found EXPAT: /usr/lib/libexpat.dylib (found version "2.2.1")
-- Configuring done
-- Generating done
-- Build files have been written to: /Users/chris/Desktop/Audio Programming/Audio Plugin Development/VST/Current/VST_SDK/build

I think the problem lies with the VST_GUI library as the the plug-in without a GUI loads properly.

Does anything in the build output look suspicious?

Cheers,

Chris

Post Reply