MIDI Input in Cakewalk

SDK for VST 3 audio plug-in and host development.
bx_joscha
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:21 am

MIDI Input in Cakewalk

Postby bx_joscha » Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:43 am

Our VST3 synths are currently not getting MIDI input from Bandlab's Cakewalk. The problem is that this is the only host that does not call IComponent::getBusInfo(type, dir, index, bus) with a type == MediaTypes::kEvent.

In other hosts like Cubase and Studio One, all expected callbacks happen, like IComponent::getBusCount(type, dir), IComponent::getBusInfo(type, dir, index, bus) and IComponent::activateBus(type, dir, index, state). This happens also for the MIDI event bus, but not in Cakewalk.

But I could see that other VST3 synths are working well in Cakewalk, so there must be something that we are not implementing well, but I do not know what it could be.

bx_joscha
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:21 am

Re: MIDI Input in Cakewalk

Postby bx_joscha » Fri Feb 08, 2019 8:52 am

Okay, I have fixed it. The problem was that Cakewalk missed activating the MIDI event bus. So, the bus was not activated internally, but the host still sends MIDI events correctly. If I disregard the event bus active state, it works fine.

Arne Scheffler
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 7:53 am

Re: MIDI Input in Cakewalk

Postby Arne Scheffler » Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:37 pm

Do you have your Event bus default active ? A host don't need to activate a default active bus.

Cheers,
Arne

bx_joscha
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:21 am

Re: MIDI Input in Cakewalk

Postby bx_joscha » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:19 pm

Ah, okay! Thanks for the info, Arne. That's the rule we missed.


Return to “VST 3 SDK”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest