Issue with VST3 Generator app

SDK for VST 3 audio plug-in and host development.
Post Reply
User avatar
pongasoft
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:57 pm
Location: Las Vegas, USA
Contact:

Issue with VST3 Generator app

Post by pongasoft »

I have been trying to use the new app included with the zip file for 3.7.0 to generate a project on macOS.

I have been unable to do so. After I select (Welcome tab) the location of the SDK and the location of CMake, I can't do anything else. It won't let me switch to either of the 2 other tabs (Create Plug-in Project or Preferences).

Even if I quit the app and restart it, it is in the same state (and it doesn't let me change sdk or cmake since the Welcome tab is now empty). I selected the /Applications/CMake.app for cmake and I am wondering if this is what causes the problem...

How do I reset the app so that I can select the 2 values on the Welcome tab?

Thanks
Yan

User avatar
ygrabit
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:52 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Issue with VST3 Generator app

Post by ygrabit »

hum....very strange

on Windows the preferences are saved on in registry:
Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\com.steinberg.vst3sdk.projectgenerator
on mac:
/Users/YourUSERNAME/Library/Preferences/com.steinberg.vst3sdk.projectgenerator.plist
YVan Grabit

User avatar
iriyama
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 7:22 am

Re: Issue with VST3 Generator app

Post by iriyama »

I met the similar issue.

At first, I set up "cmake-gui.exe" path as "CMake Executable directory" by mistake.

I fixed the registry "CMake Path" on
\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\com.steinberg.vst3sdk.projectgenerator
NG "cmake-gui.exe"
OK "cmake.exe"

Then, I can generate project files now. ;)

User avatar
ygrabit
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 7:52 am
Location: Hamburg
Contact:

Re: Issue with VST3 Generator app

Post by ygrabit »

yes i could reproduce it, thanks, will be fixed in next update.

Known Issue:
If by mistake you enter a wrong path for cmake, the UI of the app will be like frozen, quit the app and clean the preferences for this app:

on Windows the preferences are saved on in registry:
Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\com.steinberg.vst3sdk.projectgenerator
on mac:
/Users/YourUSERNAME/Library/Preferences/com.steinberg.vst3sdk.projectgenerator.plist
YVan Grabit

Dodgingrain
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2020 1:32 am

Re: Issue with VST3 Generator app

Post by Dodgingrain »

on a mac if we can't select /applications/cmake.app what do we use instead?

Post Reply