VST3 Bundle backward compatibility

SDK for VST 3 audio plug-in and host development.
Post Reply
User avatar
lorcan
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

VST3 Bundle backward compatibility

Post by lorcan » Tue Jun 12, 2018 11:18 am

Hi Yvan,

in the 3.6.10 SDK the Windows plug-in is now placed in a 'bundle', ala macOS and the old way is deprecated.
Might this not break compatibility with hosts that expect the old location ?
Ideally they should be scanning the VST3 folder and its descendants, but I'd prefer to be sure and not ship two installers.

Also am I right in interpreting the doc that

Code: Select all

MyPlugin.vst3/Contents/x86-win/MyPlugin.vst3
should be present only in

Code: Select all

/Program Files (x86)/Common Files/VST3/
and

Code: Select all

MyPlugin.vst3/Contents/x86_64-win/MyPlugin.vst3 
only in

Code: Select all

/Program Files/Common Files/VST3/
Thanks!
Lorcan Mc Donagh | lmdsp audio plug-ins

Arne Scheffler
Posts: 304
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 7:53 am

Re: VST3 Bundle backward compatibility

Post by Arne Scheffler » Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:51 pm

Hi,
we have checked nearly all hosts we are aware off and every host worked with bundles out of the box. No exception found.

Cheers,
Arne

User avatar
lorcan
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:04 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: VST3 Bundle backward compatibility

Post by lorcan » Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:24 pm

Good to know, thanks !
By the way and FYI the new SDK is up on github but not here https://www.steinberg.net/en/company/developers.html.
Lorcan Mc Donagh | lmdsp audio plug-ins

reflex
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 1:12 pm

Re: VST3 Bundle backward compatibility

Post by reflex » Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:28 pm

It will indeed work with existing hosts because they already scan subfolders and will still find the .vst3 files, just a few levels lower than before.

What was the reason to change this btw? Forcing some structure on where plugins put their resources?

oscill
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 9:32 pm

Re: VST3 Bundle backward compatibility

Post by oscill » Wed Nov 20, 2019 10:22 pm

Arne Scheffler wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 1:51 pm
Hi,
we have checked nearly all hosts we are aware off and every host worked with bundles out of the box. No exception found.

Cheers,
Arne
Hi Arne,

Did you check Cycling 74's Max? On Windows 10 it does not seem to find/load the new bundle style VST3 plugins. For example, the "helloworldWithVSTGUI" plugin that is shipped with the SDK. Anyone else having this problem with Max on Windows?

I have reported the bug to Cycling 74 but perhaps you can also let them know so it gets fixed ;-)

Thanks,
Steven

Post Reply